Muth Selected As University Faculty Scholar

November 30, 2012

Dr. John Muth 
Dr. John Muth

Dr. John Muth, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Deputy Director of the NSF ASSIST Center, has been selected as a University Faculty Scholar. Muth is one of 24 that were selected for this inaugural award.

North Carolina State University Chancellor Randy Woodson announced on November 16, the inaugural group of University Faculty Scholars, a recognition and reward program for top NC State early- and mid-career faculty who will receive $10,000 ­- in donated funds - for each of the next five years to support their academic endeavors.

The program is part of the university's strategic initiative to invest in and retain top faculty. It is funded by generous gifts totaling $5.7 million: $3 million from Jim and Ann Goodnight and $2.7 million from the William R. Kenan Jr. Charitable Trust.

"Investing in retaining and attracting the best faculty to teach our students and lead innovative research that improves lives and enhances the state's economy is a key strategic goal for NC State," Woodson says.

"The generous support of Jim and Ann Goodnight and the Kenan Jr. Charitable Trust enables NC State to make this strategic investment in some of our most outstanding and promising faculty scholars, for the benefit of our students as well as the citizens of North Carolina."

Those eligible for awards include assistant professors who have been reappointed for a second term; all associate professors; and full professors within the first three years of appointment at that rank. Nominees were evaluated based on evidence of their significant achievements in scholarship, teaching and/or service appropriate to their rank and discipline.

Faculty members are nominated by their colleges and selected by a committee of senior faculty. Forty faculty members were nominated for the award.