Mo-Yuen Chow Receives IEEE IES Service Award

December 19, 2013

Dr. Mo-Yuen Chow and robot cars used to simulate driving in his EB2 lab. 
Dr. Mo-Yuen Chow and robot cars used to simulate driving in his EB2 lab.

Dr. Mo-Yuen Chow, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at North Carolina State University and Director of the Advanced Diagnostics, Automation, and Control Lab (ADAC), has received the IEEE IES Anthony J. Hornfeck Service Award.

The award, recognizes outstanding, meritorious services to the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. This award was first presented in 1979 as the Meritorious Award. The award is not necessarily awarded yearly, only when a suitable candidate can be identified.

"I am blessed to have received this IEEE Industrial Electronics Society Anthony J. Hornfeck Service Award." says Dr. Chow. "I am grateful to my nominator and to all my colleagues in IES for their mentoring, support and friendship. It is an honor and privilege to serve alongside so many wonderful people and to contribute to a great society."

Dr. Chow earned his degree in Bachelor's of Science degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1982. He also received his Masters in Engineering and Pd.D. from Cornell University in 1983 and 1987 respectively. Upon completion of his Ph.D. degree, Dr. Chow joined the ECE Department at NC State as an Assistant Professor. He became an Associate Professor in 1993, and has been a Professor since 1999. Dr. Chow is a Changjian Scholar and Visiting Professor at Zhejiang University. He worked in the U.S. Army, TACOM TARDEC Division as a Senior Research Scientist during the summer of 2003.

Dr. Chow's research focuses on fault detection, diagnosis, and prognosis, time-sensitive distributed control systems, and computational intelligence. He has been applying his research to areas including smart grids, power distribution systems, transportation systems, batteries, motors, robotics and mechatronics. He has served as a Principal Investigator in several projects supported by the National Science Foundation, Department of Transportation, Army, NASA, BD Technologies, Center for Advanced Computing and Communication, Electric Power Research Center, Nortel Company, Electric Power Research Institute, Duke Power Company, ABB Company, and Quantar Technologies.