Byrd Elected as First Vice President of IEEE Computer Society

November 30, 2017

Dr. Gregory T. Byrd, professor and Associate Department Head of the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at NC State University was elected by the IEEE Computer Society as the 2018 First Vice President.

IEEE Computer Society, the computing industry's unmatched source for technology information and career development, offers a comprehensive array of industry-recognized products, services and professional opportunities. Known as the community for technology leaders, IEEE Computer Society's vast resources include memebership, publications, a renowned digital library, training programs, conferences, and top-trending technology events.

Dr. Gregory Byrd 
Dr. Gregory Byrd

As an officer and member of the Board of Governors, Dr. Byrd's role as the First Vice President is integral to setting the direction and determining the strategy for the Computer Society, and provides guidance at the policy level to all Society organizational entities.

Previously, Dr. Byrd was a member of the CS Board of Governors (2015-2017), and a member-at-large of the Publications Board (2012-2016). In 2016, he served as Computer Society Secretary. He is a member of the Computer magazine editorial board, as computer architectures area editor (2013-14, 2017) and as creator and editor of the Student Design Showcase column (2015-16).

Byrd's research is primarily in the area of parallel computer architecture. He received a PhD in electrical engineering from Stanford University. Prior to joining NC State, he worked at Celotek, MCNC, NC Supercomputing Center, and Digital Equipment Corporation. He has been general chair and program chair of the IEEE International Conference on Computer Design, and has served on program committees of several IEEE conferences. He received an Outstanding Teacher Award at NC State (2011) and the IEEE CS Golden Core Award (2016).

Dr. Byrd was the 2017 Second Vice President of the society was elected with 3,170 votes in October, and will start his term on January 1, 2018.