Distinguished Speaker: Josep Torrellas

Photo of Josep Torrellas

Josep Torrellas
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Variation-Tolerant Computer Architectures

Josep Torrellas, Professor
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Josep Torrellas spoke on Friday, March 23rd, 2012 at 2:20PM in Engineering Building I, Room 1011

Dealing with parameter variation in a cost-effective manner is one of the main challenges faced by multicore developers. This challenge is best addressed at multiple levels. This talk presents some of the approaches that we have developed at the architecture level. In particular, I show how aging can be traded-off for power and performance, giving rise to a new way to speed-up single thread performance that we call BubbleWrap. I also present work on coping with process variation at near-threshold voltage operation. If time permits, I will discuss some ideas that help us in the road to extreme scale computing.

Josep Torrellas is a Professor of Computer Science and (by courtesy) Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He is a Fellow of IEEE and ACM. He is the Director of the Center for Programmable Extreme-Scale Computing, a center funded by DARPA, DOE, and NSF that focuses on architectures for extreme energy and power efficiency. He also directs the Intel-Illinois Parallelism Center (I2PC), a center created by Intel to advance parallel computing in clients. He has made contributions to parallel computer architecture in the areas of shared-memory multiprocessor organizations, cache hierarchies and coherence protocols, thread-level speculation, and hardware and software reliability. Torrellas is a co-PI of the Intel Runnemede multiprocessor, funded by DARPA under the UHPC program. In the past, he lead the I-acoma multiprocessor project and the DARPA-funded M3T Polymorphic Computer Architecture, co-directed the FlexRAM Intelligent Memory project, and was one of the PIs in the IBM PERCS multiprocessor project, funded under the DARPA HPCS program. He received a Ph.D. from Stanford University.