Contact Information

334-D Monteith
Campus Box 7911
NC State University
Raleigh, NC 27695-7911
Locate on Campus Map

Dr. Jayant Baliga

Director, Power Semiconductor Research Center (PSRC)

| Biography

Prof. Baliga is an internationally recognized expert on power semiconductor devices. He is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering and a Fellow of the IEEE. He spent 15 years at the General Electric Research and Development Center, Schenectady, NY, leading their power device effort and was bestowed the highest scientific rank of Coolidge Fellow. He joined NCSU in 1988 as a Full Professor and was promoted to the rank of 'Distinguished University Professor' in 1997. Among his many NCSU honors, he was the recepient of the 1998 O. Max Gardner Award given by the North Carolina University Board of Governors to the one person within the 16 constituent universities who has made 'the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race'; and the 2011 Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal of Excellence, the highest honor at NCSU from the Board of Trustees.

Prof. Baliga has authored/edited 18 books and over 500 scientific articles. He has been granted 120 U.S. Patents. The IEEE has recognized him numerous times - most recently with the 'Lamme Medal' at Whitehall Palace in London. Scientific American magazine included him among the 'Eight Heroes of the Semiconductor Revolution' when commemorating the 50th anniversary of the invention of the transistor.

Prof. Baliga invented, developed and commercialized the Insulated Gate Bipolar Trannsistor (IGBT) at GE. The IGBT is extensively used in the consumer, industrial, lighting, transportation, medical, renewable energy, and other sectors of the economy. It has enabled enormous reduction of gasoline and electrical energy use, resulting in huge cost savings to consumers, and reduction of world-wide carbon dioxide emissions. A detailed report on the applications and social impact of the IGBT is available. He received the National Medal of Technology and Innovation, the highest form of recognition given to an engineer by the United States Government, from President Obama in October 2011, at the White House; and the North Carolina Award for Science from Governor Purdue in October 2012.

| Education

  1. 1969 - B.Tech in Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India
  2. 1971 - MS in Electrical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY
  3. 1974 - PhD in Electrical Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY

| Primary Research Interests

  1. Power Electronics and Power Systems (Including Power Management ICs, Power Semiconductor Devices)

| Other Research Interests

  1. Physical Electronics, Photonics & Magnetics (Including III - V Materials and Devices, Silicon Devices and Fabrication)

| Selected Publications

  1. Author: "The IGBT Device: Physics, Design and Applications of the Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor", Elsevier, 2015.
  2. Author: "Fundamentals of Power Semiconductor Devices", 1000-page Textbook, Springer Science, 2008.
  3. Author: 'Advanced Power MOSFET Concepts', 550-page Book, Springer Science, 2010.
  4. Author: 'Advanced Power Rectifier Concepts', 350-page Book, Springer Science, 2009.
  5. Author: 'Advanced High Voltage Device Concepts', 550-page Book, Springer Science, 2011.

| Awards and Honors

  • 2017 - Inducted Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors
  • 2017 - Inducted one of the five Foreign Fellows of Indian National Academy of Engineering
  • 2016 - Honorary Doctor of Science Degree, I. I. T. - Madras
  • 2016 - Inducted into National Inventors Hall of Fame as sole inventor of IGBT
  • 2015 - Global Energy Prize, President of the Russian Federation
  • 2015 - IEEE EDS Celebrated Member Award
  • 2014 - IEEE Medal of Honor
  • 2013 - IEEE Life Fellow
  • 2013 - Inducted into Rensselaer Alumni Hall of Fame
  • 2013 - NCSU Risley Entreprenuer of the Year Award
  • 2012 - BCBS 'Eminent Cottonian' Award
  • 2012 - IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting Recognition at Plenary Session
  • 2012 - Named among top 35 Indian Thinkers since 1975 by India Today, a leading news magazine in India with a readership of over 15 million.
  • 2012 - North Carolina Award for Science, Governor of North Carolina
  • 2012 - Profiled in Forbes India 'Innovation Special' Magazine: "Among the 18 Great Minds who are doing cutting-edge work"
  • 2011 - Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence (NC State)
  • 2011 - National Medal of Technology and Innovation, President of the United States
  • 2010 - Inducted into Electronic Design Engineering Hall of Fame
  • 2005 - Member, European Academy of Sciences
  • 2004 - IEEE-ISPSD Contributory Award for Founding the conference and serving as General Chairman in 1993
  • 2001 - ISI "100 Most Highly Cited Scientists in Engineering"
  • 2000 - Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
  • 2000 - National Academy of Engineering re-classified as Member
  • 2000 - R J Reynolds Tobacco Company Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Extension (NC State)
  • 1999 - Bell Tower Lighting for 100th US Patent (NC State)
  • 1999 - IEEE Lamme Medal for Invention and Development of the IGBT
  • 1998 - IEEE Ebers Award for technical contributions to Electron Devices (ED Society)
  • 1998 - O Max Gardner Award for 'greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race' (University of North Carolina Board of Governors)
  • 1997 - Scientific American Magazine 'One of the Eight Heroes of the Semiconductor Revolution'
  • 1996 - "Ten People to Watch in the Triangle", News and Observer, Raleigh
  • 1995-2002 - Honorary Editorial Advisory Board, Solid-State Electronics Journal
  • 1995 - ALCOA Foundation Distinguished Engineering Research Award (NC State)
  • 1995 - Alumni Association Outstanding Research Award (NC State)
  • 1995 - BF Goodrich Collegiate Inventors Award, Inventors Hall of Fame
  • 1993 - General Chairman, IEEE International Symposium on Power Semiconductor Devices
  • 1993 - IEEE Liebman Award for contributions to 'Smart Power Technology'
  • 1993 - National Academy of Engineering elected at age 45 as Foreign Affiliate from India
  • 1992 - Pride of India Award (First Recipient), BSS Society, USA
  • 1992 - Vice-General Chairman, IEEE International Symposium on Power Semiconductor Devices
  • 1991 - IEEE Newell Award for technical contributions to Power Electronics (PE Society)
  • 1991 - Technical Program Chairman, IEEE International Symposium on Power Semiconductor Devices
  • 1988 - Whitney Hall of Technical Achievers, General Electric Company
  • 1985-1990 - Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices
  • 1984 - IR 100 Award for "Gallium Arsenide Schottky Power Rectifier"
  • 1984 - Science Digest Magazine's '100 Brightest Young Scientists in America'
  • 1983 - GE Coolidge Award (Highest Scientist Designation)
  • 1983 - GE Dushman Award for 'The Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor'
  • 1983 - IEEE Fellow elected at age 35 for contributions to Power Semiconductor Devices
  • 1983 - IR 100 Award for "Insulated Gate Transistor"
  • 1982 - IEEE Region I Award
  • 1974 - Allen B Dumont Prize (RPI, Top PhD Graduate)
  • 1969 - Philips India Medal (IIT, Madras, Top EE Graduate)
  • 1969 - Special Merit Medal (IIT, Madras, Valedictorian)